Amazon.co.uk (UK)
Amazon.ca (Canada)

SBS Mag

Old 12-06-2015, 05:31 AM View Post #1 (Link) Yet untitled
Untitled (Offline)
Literary Newbie

Times Thanked: 0
Dear All,

A newbie here and not a native English speaker, so there might be certain glaring errors that I'm asking to be excused for in advance. Also, there's reference to some elements from the film 'The Green Mile'; don't know though whether someone is supposed to make the connection or not! Anyways, here it goes, along with an open invitation for any kind of critique.

Hudson doesn't care, does she?
She stands still.
But she flows in my mind,
she just flows in my mind.
Ushering in memories I wish I left behind.

It's now or never, I feel everyday.
Running after that elusive extra mile.
Not now, nor may be never -
utter those who slowly walk by,
sporting a smirk or rather a confused smile.

[CHORUS]
Feeling a runner's high,
Oh, Hudson, I'm feeling a runner's high!
Or is it just one of those comfortable lies?
To get past the day, yet another day!
An escape from all the moments I wish I could shy away!

All the 'green' miles ahead,
without any clear end in sight.
Someone said a last mile was there,
offering redemption, but not through the (electric) 'chair'!

So I run, dear Hudson, I just run!
As long as those fleeting glimpses of hope should come!
Now ever closer as I feel to that mile,
who knows whether I would ever return!

[CHORUS]
Feeling a runner's high,

Last edited by Untitled; 12-06-2015 at 05:48 AM.

Old 12-10-2015, 10:53 AM View Post #2 (Link)
elephant (Offline)
Literary Newbie

Times Thanked: 1
Originally Posted by Untitled View Post
Dear All,