Store
Support YWO
YWO Merchandise
The Book Despository
Amazon.com (US)
Amazon.co.uk (UK)
Amazon.ca (Canada)

SBS Mag

Old 06-10-2014, 12:36 AM View Post #1 (Link) Marketplace with F. Scott Fitzgerald and Allen Ginsberg
AutostradaUnchained (Offline)
Abstract Thinker

Times Thanked: 10
This is something I have never done before, giving a parody/tribute to other writers or even mentioning people in the first place- I do both here.
The parts near the end I took off two of my favorite Ginsberg poems to tribute F. Scott Fitzgerald, hence the title. I only started writing those parts one day, and decided to continue it until it was (possibly) a real poem.

MARKETPLACE WITH F. SCOTT FITZGERALD AND ALLEN GINSBERG
I walked through streets too lame to describe,
I walked through buildings and staircases,
White carpets on Versailles,
Past the Potomac oranges,
Past Neruda at Starbucks, bald, communist, wrinkled flesh on his forehead as he hands me my redeye,
Past Jesus fish, Marxist trout with head slashed off,
Past elderly pseudo-evangelicals making obnoxious comments about great looks and money,
Past pseudo-villas on the river where businessmen bitch about names and failing businesses,
No nudity, no love, no beauty, no sanity, no sacredness, no wilderness, no intelligence, no class, no culture, no descendants of the great human generations, no evidence of any change in their southern racism, no change in the hypocrisy of these cross-burning psychopathic fascist airhead zombies shouting at Euro-laced young tycoon with Swiss timepiece and leather jacket (the poet who hates vanity, hence-) shouting desperate lowlife idiotic words at all chrome youth:
“COMMUNIST!”
(Jealousy.)
And have they heard of Lac Geneve anyway? Do they even know who Marx was? Must they boo-hoo in some other [Canada?]
Do the haters realize they hate freedom? That they caused 9/11? That they killed Lincoln and Kennedy and Jesus and America? That their lunacy is the problem?