Amazon.co.uk (UK)
Amazon.ca (Canada)

SBS Mag

Old 04-24-2014, 06:11 PM View Post #1 (Link) 8 Tips to Improve Your Critiques
Infinity_Man (Offline)
Freelance Writer

Times Thanked: 240
8 Tips to Improve Your Critiques

I've been here for almost exactly two years now. In that time, I've given almost 200 critiques (though that's a generous estimate) and have been thanked almost 200 times (though a lot of that is also for my own guides and advice in other threads). My point isn't just for me to toot my own horn, but to show that I have some experience in giving critiques that writers feel is helpful, so I have some authority on the subject. I know that it can be tricky, when you're first starting, to know what makes a good critique, so I thought I'd prepare some tips that I find useful to remind myself of when I critique.

We've already got several guides to critiquing but it never hurts to have another, so I thought I'd tackle a few more, let's say, "advanced" pieces of advice that those guides don't necessarily get into, because those guides are for setting a benchmark for critiques, rather than refining your critiques. So this isn't so much a beginner's guide as it is a few ways to think about your critiques so you can take them to another level.

As with all of my guides, this is all based on personal experience, and what I've learned in several years of critiquing and thinking about the purpose and value of criticism, and my role as a critic. As with writing, there is no "right" way to critique, but I've generally found it helpful to remember that...

1. Most Criticism Is Just Your Opinion.